NEW! Visit link to access: City of Lexington Cemetery Search
The main Lexington City Cemetery is nestled between Salem Street and State Street in Lexington, North Carolina. The gate leading into the cemetery is located on State Street. As you enter the gate stands the oldest part of the cemetery, a marker made of stones and mortar bearing the inscription: “Center of the cemetery begun about 1740.” Behind the marker still stands the gallows.
South Lexington Cemetery is located on South Lexington Drive. Legend has it that during the 1950’s, a graveyard existed on Talbert Boulevard on a property that is currently used as a storage facility. The said graves were dug up and relocated to South Lexington Drive creating a cemetery.
Raleigh Road Cemetery is located at the end of Railroad Street in Lexington, North Carolina. The beginning of this cemetery is unknown. This cemetery is holding the resting place for several Masonic individuals as well as groups of families.
Nokomis Cemetery is located on Talbert Boulevard. The beginning of the Nokomis Cemetery began during a small pox epidemic in 1903. The A.R. Williams Family was hit very hard. Story has it that the small sister Emma would run after the “Pest Wagon” that collected the bodies of those who died from the pox. She came down with the disease, also infecting her brother Ed Williams. Julia C. Williams became ill with the pox and died December 27, 1903. The City of Lexington would not allow infected bodies to be buried in the Lexington Cemetery. Mr. Williams received permission from Nokomis Mill to bury the body in the pines. In later years and during the depression years, other families took bodies and buried them around the Williams Family cemetery. Buried next to Julia C. Williams is her husband C.C. Williams. Contributed by: Clifford J. Lopp, 1987 Information is provided by Davidson County Genealogical Society.